The LAPACK forum has moved to https://groups.google.com/a/icl.utk.edu/g/lapack.

BLACS Installation

Open discussion regarding features, bugs, issues, vendors, etc.

BLACS Installation

Postby Danesh_D » Wed Jun 06, 2007 12:45 pm

Hi all,

I want to install "BLACS" before installing "ScaLAPACK". I have installed "BLAS", "LAPACK" and "OpenMPI". I also have choosen and set up proper file Bmake.inc. When I run "make mpi" it can not fine "mpi.h". I have reinstalled "OpenMPI" but the problem is not solved. Is there any other solution? By the way, I want to install "BLACSMPI" and not "BLACSPVM".

Regards,

D.
Danesh_D
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:03 pm

Postby Julie » Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:02 pm

Danesh,
it look like you are missing the path to the include file for MPI.
MPIINCdir = $(MPIdir)/include
When you compile, you should see something like this:
mpicc -c -O4 -DSYSINC -I/Users/julie/opt/openmpi-1.2/include -DAdd_ -DBlacsDebugLvl=0 igesd2d_.c
If you still do not manage to compile, just copy the mpi.h file to BLACS/SRC, it should work after.

Make sure to run the BLACS tester before trying to install ScaLAPACK.
Julie
Julie
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:32 am
Location: ICL, Denver. Colorado

Postby Danesh_D » Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:34 pm

Thanks Julie. I installed it. Now I have another question. Essentially, can I use BLACS and ScaLAPACK on a single processor machine, however if I assume that it is no as efficient as it could be? I am performing some test and I will run my code on a multiprocessor machine, but I need to do some test before that on my single processor machine.

Regards,

D.
Danesh_D
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:03 pm

Postby Julie » Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:46 pm

Essentially, can I use BLACS and ScaLAPACK on a single processor machine,

Yes no problem with that, you can do a
mpirun -np 4 myprogram
and it will start 4 processes on your localhost

however if I assume that it is no as efficient as it could be?

yes indeed, your processor will not be able to run the 4 processes concurrently.

I am performing some test and I will run my code on a multiprocessor machine,

What kind of machine? a basic cluster or a multicore machine?

Julie
Julie
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:32 am
Location: ICL, Denver. Colorado


Return to User Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests